Instead of allowing one to explicitly set a state, TaskLite infers the current state from several other fields. There are primary, secondary, and tertiary states.

2 primary states:

  • Open - Waits to be done
  • Closed - Nothing left to be done

9 exclusive secondary states:

  • Asleep - Is hidden because it's not relevant yet
  • Awake - Has become relevant or will become soon
  • Ready - Is ready to be done (similar to Open)
  • Waiting - It's still unclear if the task needs to be done or really has been done. Regular checks are necessary until situation clears up.
  • Review - It's necessary to check if the task can finally be started or if it has finally been completed.
  • Done - Has been done
  • Obsolete - Has become obsolete or impossible to finish
  • Deletable - Not needed anymore and can be deleted (item in the trash)


└─Asleep> now> now or ❌
└─Awake< now> now or ❌
└─Ready< now or ❌< now
└─Waiting< now> now or ❌
└─Review< now


  • ✅ = Set
  • ❌ = Not set
  • ❔ = Maybe set

3 exclusive tertiary states:

  • Repeating - If this task get completed, a duplicate will be created with the specified time offset. I.e. subsequent tasks get delayed (e.g. mowing the lawn)
  • Recurring - Task which needs to be done every day, week, etc. I.e. missed completions must be caught up immediately. (e.g. paying rent) The number of tasks which will be created in advance can be set via a config.
  • Frozen - Was previously repeating or recurring but has been stopped for the time being.

A task is either recurring or repeating, but can't be both at the same time. For more information and examples check out the corresponding documentation page